September 23, 2016–October 22, 2016

Kweskin Theatre

RAGTIME, the musical

This sweeping musical portrait of early 20th century America tells the story of three families in the pursuit of the American Dream.

Directed by George Croom
Music Direction by Tony Bellomy
Choreography by Jennifer Jonas

Written by the award-winning composer/lyricist team of Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens (Once On This Island, Seussical and Lucky Stiff), noted playwright Terrence McNally, and based on E.L. Doctorow's distinguished novel, Ragtime is the winner of the 1998 Tony Awards for Best Score, Book and Orchestrations, and both the Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle Awards for Best Musical and Best Score. Called by Time Magazine "A triumph for the stage," and by the International Herald Tribune "the best musical in twenty years," this acclaimed musical is filled with pageantry, emotion and hope, bursting onto the stage like no other musical.

At the dawn of a new century, everything is changing… and anything is possible. Set in the volatile melting pot of turn-of-the-century New York, three distinctly American tales are woven together -- that of a stifled upper-class wife, a determined Jewish immigrant and a daring young Harlem musician -- united by their courage, compassion and belief in the promise of the future. Together they confront history's timeless contradictions of wealth and poverty, freedom and prejudice, hope and despair, and what it means to live in America.

The Tony-winning score is just as diverse as the melting pot of America itself, drawing upon many musical styles from the ragtime rhythms of Harlem and Tin Pan Alley to the klezmer of the Lower East Side, from bold brass band marches to delicate waltzes, from up-tempo banjo tunes to period parlor songs and expansive anthems. A truly unique and powerful portrait of America, Ragtime is sure to inspire actors and audiences alike!


Mother- Sarah Giggar
Father- Larry D. Gabbard
Younger Brother- Joey Sanzaro
Tateh- Brian Bianco
Emma Goldman- Lauren Gulliver Travers
Harry Houdini- Ian J. Barto
Evelyn Nesbit- Meaghan Elliot
Young Girl- Kristina DeLelle, Nora Watson
Grandfather- Vic Sauerhoff
Booker T. Washington- Brian Crook
Henry Ford- Duane Lanham
JP Morgan- John Cedric Anderson
Willie Conklin- Dan Travers
Coalhouse Walker, Jr.- Kevin Thompson
Sarah- Minuette Griffin
Sarah's Friend- Zully Ramos
Young Boy- Nicholas Ferreira, Christopher Messis

Heather Abrado,  Rob Alexander, Seth Barkan, Karen Richards Chodash, Sari Deutsch, Stephen Emerick, Jim Hisey, Eric Hu, Beth Buehner Jackson, Markiss Jackson, Rachel Lewis, Shannele Lewis, Jacqueline Wakem MacLean, Betty McCready, Ben McCormack, Jourdan Miller, Simone Palmer, Sarah Brittany Peterson,  Dana Ciafone Posner, Katie Priscott, Owen Priscott, Mackenzie Sherrod, LaMarr Taylor, Emily Vrissis, Virgil Watson, Jon Wu